In August 2021, seven young people set up camp in the government district of Berlin. On Monday, August 30th, 2021, they went on an indefinite hunger strike.

Their demand before the federal elections in Germany was to have a public discussion about the climate emergency with all three chancellor candidates: Annalena Baerbock, Robert Habeck and Olaf Scholz. In addition, citizens' councils should be set up to decide on immediate measures against the climate catastrophe.

If an analysis of the electoral programs said “The target paths of all parties lead to a clear exceeding of this budget [of the IPCC]. Hence our assessment: there is no option for climate justice.” at the time of August, 2021, what choice was left but to sound the alarm as clearly as possible?

To bring the climate emergency into focus, the hunger strikers have popped up time and time again at campaign speeches by top candidates to confront them about their strike and their demands.

Timo Knorr

After 20 to 24 days of hunger strikes and three hospital stays, all but two people ended their hunger strikes.

Lea Bonasera and Henning Jeschke now personally addressed Olaf Scholz – at that point the likely winner of the election – and, after 27 days without food and a 7-hour thirst strike, they finally achieved his commitment to a public discussion about the climate emergency.

Some of the photographs were took by Stefan MĂĽller.

Im August 2021 haben sieben junge Menschen im Berliner Regierungsviertel ein Camp aufgeschlagen. Am Montag, den 30.08.2021, sind sie in den unbefristeten Hungerstreik getreten.

Ihre Forderung war – noch vor der Bundestagswahl – ein öffentliches GesprĂ€ch ĂŒber den Klimanotstand mit allen drei Kanzlerkandidat:innen, Annalena Baerbock, Robert Habeck und Olaf Scholz, zu fĂŒhren. Außerdem sollten BĂŒrgerrĂ€te eingesetzt werden, um Sofortmaßnahmen gegen die Klimakatastrophe zu beschließen.

Wenn eine Analyse der Wahlprogramme sagt „Die Zielpfade aller Parteien fĂŒhren zu einem deutlichen Überschreiten dieses Budget [des IPCC]. Daher unsere EinschĂ€tzung: Klimagerechtigkeit steht nicht zur Wahl.“, was blieb zum Zeitpunkt August, 2021, dann noch, als so deutlich Alarm zu schlagen, wie es geht?

Um den Klimanotstand in den Fokus zu rĂŒcken, sind die Hungerstreikenden immer und immer wieder bei Wahlkampfreden der Spitzen-Kandidat:innen aufgetaucht, um sie mit ihrem Streik und ihren Forderungen zu konfrontieren.

Fotos: Timo Knorr

Nach 20 bis 24 Tagen des Hungerstreiks und drei Krankenhausaufenthalten beendeten alle bis auf zwei Personen ihren Hungerstreik.

Lea Bonasera und Henning Jeschke adressierten den spĂ€teren Wahlsieger Olaf Scholz nun persönlich und erreichten nach 27 Tagen ohne Essen und einem 7-stĂŒndigen Durststreik schließlich eine Zusage fĂŒr ein öffentliches GesprĂ€ch ĂŒber den Klimanotstand.

Fotos: z.T. Stefan MĂŒller

WordPress Cookie Notice by Real Cookie Banner